Marriage Licenses


Marriage Licenses are obtained from the Probate Court.  Official Code of Georgia § 19-3-2 defines the age requirements for marriage in Georgia.  Ordinarily, you must be 18 years old to obtain a Marriage License.  If you are 17, you may be able to obtain a Marriage License – but certain legal requirements and restrictions must be met.  Georgia Law does not allow for persons under the age of 17 to marry.

 

Applicants must bring documentary proof to show their actual birthdate. 

 

To apply, both applicants must personally appear at the Probate Court to complete the application.  If either person previously was married, then proof of annulment/divorce from, or death of, the former spouse is required.

 

The cost for a Marriage License is 77.00.  If you have completed premarital counseling, and have a signed/notarized certificate of completion, then the cost of the Marriage License is reduced to $37.00.

 

The following internet link to The Council of Probate Court Judges of Georgia that posts information about Marriage Licenses.

 

https://georgiacourts.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/Probate.Courts.Marriage.Licenses.pdf

 

Same Sex Marriages:  In the case of Obergefell v. Hodges, 135 S. Ct. 2584 (2015), the United State Supreme Court ruled that it is unconstitutional for states to bar same-sex couples from marrying and, as a result, may not refuse to recognize a lawful same-sex marriage performed in another state.  Therefore, if otherwise qualified, same sex couples may apply for and receive a Marriage License in all States, including the State of Georgia.

;